The farewell!!


So this past Wednesday was the day when I returned my office stuff and said the final goodbyes. I toured the building one last time to catch up with my soon to be ex-colleagues before I left. Some were sad, some were nonchalant, while a few others gave parting hugs and promised to keep in touch through Facebook.

I have been associated with the company for almost 8 years. I interned there, then landed a full time job. Worked in different teams, met some wonderful people, made some lifelong connections. 

As I leave, I take with me so many memories, experiences and so much knowledge. While I look forward to the challenges of my new life, I will fondly cherish the moments of my old. The good ones and the bad ones too, I will cherish the friendships, the team fun, the silly bickering, the luncheons, the food days, the monthly/bimonthly movie-lunches, the monthly releases, the driving to work for 4.00 AM project releases, the gym and the yoga sessions and so much more.

The fact that my husband and I worked in the same place meant we had a lot of common friends and colleagues. Although we worked in different teams, our paths often crossed and sometimes we would end up in the same meeting. It gets particularly interesting when we have to interact as colleagues! In situations like these, we both would try to put our professional selves forward and not let the personalities get in the way. But I will admit, sometimes it’s hard to keep a straight face! In any case, this gave us a lot in common and I am certainly going to miss that. 

In a nutshell, this is the place where I grew professionally. Learnt the tricks of the trade! Wherever the future takes me, I am sure it is going to be, as my 3 year old says, “all better“:)

Ciao!!

2 thoughts on “The farewell!!

  1. It’s sentimental and bittersweet leaving a place where you worked for for so long, especially if you had a great time working there. Sounds like you had a great group of colleagues there and there was a social component to it too – and that always goes some way towards team bonding and getting along together. Good luck with the future 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

